fun and clever gift wrap ideas

holiday gift wrap ideas

We have a snow day here in the DC area. Lots of people are using this time to catch up on Christmas stuff – in fact, I spoke to my mother this morning and she said she was going to spend the day wrapping presents. I can’t do that because I haven’t bought any presents – in fact, I am behind on just about every aspect of Christmas. I haven’t even thought about which gifts I’m buying, let alone actually buying them. This is out of character for me – I’m usually pretty organized by now. But that’s what having a new house will do to you, right?

Well maybe it’s because I don’t have any gifts to wrap yet but I wanted to share some ideas for nontraditional wrapping. There is nothing wrong with traditional Christmas wrapping paper and a bow, but if you want to do something a little different, here are some fun ideas:

Does anyone else think gift wrap is ridiculously overpriced for what it is? I refuse to pay full price for wrapping paper, so I only buy it after Christmas when it’s on clearance. But if you want to avoid it altogether, here are some suggestions for using plain brown paper. I love the elegant look of this one with black satin ribbon and a sprig of greenery. I feel like this is perfect if you are the type of person who wraps your gifts as soon as you buy them and then lets them sit under the tree taunting you. As you can imagine, I am not that type of person. I also have to worry about pets chewing on personalizing the wrapping. Photo via Belle Vivir:

holiday gift wrap ideas

For something a little more whimsical, use colored ribbon and a colored letter for the first initial of the recipient (obviously this doesn’t work if more than one person in your family has the same initial – in my husband’s family, him, his parents and his brother all have the same initials). Bonus that you save money on gift tags! Photo via It All Appeals To Me:

holiday gift wrap ideas

If you don’t want to just use initials, spell out the whole first name with rubber stamps. I’ll admit that I’m partial to this photo since the top gift is obviously meant for me. Photo via Fireflies and Jellybeans:

holiday gift wrap ideas

For extra credit (or people who have a ton of time on their hands at Christmas – I am jealous!) you can even find photos of the gift recipients! Photo via Our Suburban Farm:

holiday gift wrap ideas

For those odd-shaped gifts that fit better in a bag, I love the idea of sprucing up a plain bag rather than buying expensive gift bags. I’m sorry – but $7 for a paper bag? No thank you! I love this idea of using some twine and a fresh spring, but you could also incorporate the stamp or photo ideas from the ideas above. Photo via Fox in the Pine:

holiday gift wrap ideas

I love giving consumable gifts, such as food or wine. Wine (or a nice bottle of liquor) can be tricky to wrap. You can use a fancy wine bag, but I also like the idea of a wine sweater. This is an easy DIY if you have any old sweaters lying around (who doesn’t?). You can just cut off a sleeve and then close one end – or leave them both open and make it into a wine koozie. Very cute, plus it looks like it takes more effort than it does. Photo via Warm Hot Chocolate:

holiday gift wrap ideas

For something even easier, buy an inexpensive holiday tea towel and wrap the wine bottle in that, tie with a festive ribbon or some burlap or twine.  Two gifts in one! Photo via DIY Life:

holiday gift wrap ideas

And if you need any more inspiration, check out this adorable and fun video from Nickelodeon, courtesy of my brother-in-law, who wrote the song and provides the vocals:

Randall The Wrapping Paper Monster