wear whatever you want on your wedding day

vera wang pink wedding dress

The interwebs exploded this week with commentary over Vera Wang’s show during bridal fashion week because of the (gasp) pink dresses. And to be clear, when I say the interwebs exploded, I mean the subniche of bridal bloggers – although it was a big enough of a deal to show up on Good Morning America yesterday. Now everyone is declaring pink dresses to be the next big thing, bloggers and commentators are declaring the end of traditional white gowns, and along with everything else that is right and sacred.

Now I generally don’t cover wedding gowns and fashion in this blog. I think that wedding gowns are one of the most personal aspects of wedding planning and it’s not my place to talk about trends in this space. Plus, this is an event planning blog which includes weddings among lots of other events, not just a wedding blog. And since we don’t talk about attire at other events (except for my longing for cute and comfortable shoes for events I’m directing), it just didn’t seem fair to discuss gowns.

But since everyone else is chiming in on the pink wedding gown phenomenon, I’ll add my two cents. Here it is: Brides, wear whatever you want. Do whatever you want.

There. I said it.

I’m a bit of an enigma when it comes to planning anything because I love tradition and my taste tends to be pretty classic, I also love to push the envelope, I love to innovate, I love to try new things and I love to experiment. My wedding was very traditional, with a few twists. While I love pushing the envelope on lots of events that I do, my husband is not really an envelope-pusher (when it comes to his wedding, at least). Seriously, I really wanted a cupcake tower instead of a traditional cake (we got married when those were still really popular) and he looked at me like I had two heads, and then refused and told me I was crazy. In case you didn’t know, weddings are also about compromise! So partially because of my already classic leanings and partially because my husband is very traditional, we ended up with a very traditional wedding.

But that was my wedding. You need to decide for yourself, with your fiancé.

At the end of the day – for any event, not just weddings – there really aren’t rules. Almost everything with event planning is really based on guidelines and a lot of questions can be answered with “It depends.” So just because everyone else has an hour cocktail hour and a four hour dinner reception, doesn’t mean you have to. Just because every other bride you know wore a white gown, doesn’t mean you have to. And one of my favorites for other events, not just weddings: just because we’ve done it before or we’ve always done it this way, doesn’t mean we have to do it again.

The flip side of this is following trends just because they are trends. Let’s take the pink bridal gown. Let’s say this really takes off (I’m not sure it will) – if you like the trend and want to embrace it, go for it. If you still hold on to the dream of walking down the aisle in white/ivory/offwhite/every other shade of white, than by all means, stick to white. And remember that most people only have one wedding, and you’re going to be showing your grandkids those wedding pictures one day, having to explain why Grandma was wearing a hot pink dress!

Leave a comment

