the best weddings and events are edited (by the planner!)

Coco-Chanel | amanda jayne events blog

Was it Coco Chanel who said something along the lines of, before you leave the house look in the mirror and take one thing off? I assume she was talking about accessories, but I feel the same can apply to event planning, particularly weddings.

It’s so easy to get caught up in so many good ideas that you forget to edit yourself. Just like a good writer must edit his own writing, choosing words carefully, a good planner or designer must edit her own designs.

For weddings this can be particularly hard to do, especially in the age of the Pinterest bride. Pinterest has made it even easier to share photos, ideas and recipes, but it has truly revolutionized how many brides plan weddings.

Years ago, many brides were like me. As soon as I got engaged, I went to the local Barnes & Noble and triumphantly purchased a stack of bridal magazines (triumphantly because before that point I had sheepishly thumbed through them from time to time before I had a ring on my finger). And then I got them home, poured myself a glass of wine, and then read each magazine cover to cover. And I’m a tear-er – I tore out everything that looked interesting and put it in a binder, divided by category. Some women dog-ear, some use post-its, I tear out.

Pinterest was just starting to gain momentum as I was finishing up plans for my wedding but I resisted joining. By then I had made all of my decisions – what was the point of getting more ideas when I was already happy with my plans?

But for many women who do use Pinterest to plan their weddings, it can be overwhelming. There really are so many great ideas and it’s natural to want to incorporate them all.

But at the end of the day you have to edit. Ask yourself, do all of these ideas complement each other? Is anything clashing? Is it too much? If there is a theme you are using, did you take it too far? For example, remember when mustaches were really trendy? It’s fun to incorporate a trendy item in your event, but did you put it on everything?

Editing is hard to do. If you’re having trouble, prioritize. Take all of your ideas and decide which one or two do you love the most? Then use those ideas to build your design and go from there. And if you still have ideas you love but don’t get to incorporate in this event, save it for another event. Maybe the flowers you loved but didn’t go with your wedding theme might be a perfect centerpiece for a bridesmaids luncheon. It doesn’t hurt to save ideas – you never know when you might use them. Isn’t that what Pinterest is for?

Photo via Chanel

One thought on “the best weddings and events are edited (by the planner!)

  1. Pingback: Blog | Social Tables | Cloud-based software for the hospitality industry

Leave a comment

