why i love meetings and events

This may look like a simple centerpiece to you, but to me it represents a problem I had to solve at the last minute - and my solution ended up better than my original plan!

This may look like a simple centerpiece to you, but to me it represents a problem I had to solve at the last minute – and my solution ended up better than my original plan!

Three things: Solving problems, little details & bringing people together

Solving problems…

Any event planner will tell you that a big part of any meeting or event is solving problems. Because despite the best laid plans (and we’re planners so we like to think we have the best plans), things always go wrong. Maybe things go a little wrong, maybe things go majorly wrong. But for me, I love being able to solve problems. I love a challenge. In fact, when an event comes together too easily I can get bored. Whether its preemptively solving problems while planning an event or fixing something that has gone awry during an event, I love that feeling of accomplishment of making something happen or sometimes even saving the day.

Little details…

Some people are details people, some aren’t. I love details. I know that some of the details (probably a lot of details) I spend time working on will go unnoticed by event guests, even by clients. But I get a great deal of satisfaction out of focusing on details because they just might mean something to somebody. The details make an event just a tiny bit better.

If the point of an event is to bring people together, there is nothing better than seeing people having a good time!

If the point of an event is to bring people together, there is nothing better than seeing people having a good time!

If the point of an event is to bring people together, there is nothing better than seeing people having a good time!

Bringing people together…

At the end of the day, any event – conference, meeting, wedding, dinner party – is about bringing people together. I find that people who love planning events often also love entertaining – I certainly do. While I love to cook and I love to host dinner parties for my friends, as much as I love compliments on my cooking, I secretly love watching the conversation unfold more. I love bringing people together, facilitating connections, and creating an atmosphere where the goal of the event can happen – celebrating, networking, business, teaching, etc.

I could go on and on about why I love meetings and events. Why do you love them?

Leave a comment

